Arjen Bogaert took time out this morning to speak to the official website for the first time since being appointed as Brook Street’s new coach last weekend.

“This is a completely new challenge for me but one I am relishing”, he said. “I had a few successful seasons in Norway including a couple of league titles, but this is a big step up, and I’m hoping I can bring the same level of success to Brook Street”.

He continued, “I learnt a lot in my last post in Norway, and I have a few ideas I want to try out. I’ve had a good look at the players in training and have already identified a couple of positions that I feel need strengthening.

“Some players will come in and possibly some will leave, but essentially I have inherited a very compact and good squad with that important blend of youth and experience”.

Turning to tomorrow’s final league game of the season he said, “I’m realistic enough to know the odds are stacked very much against us and that we are probably looking at relegation to Division IV. However I can assure every single one of the Brook Street supporters that if we are going down, we’ll go down fighting”.

“Let’s be frank here, to avoid relegation we need to win 7-0 tomorrow and if I’m being completely honest, I think that’s too big a task for us.

“Don’t get me wrong, we’ll be going all-out to get the required win, but at the same time, we’ve got to face up to facts and we should also be preparing to ensure our stay in Division IV is for one season only”.

He added, “Having watch some of the DVD’s of our matches this season, I can honestly say that we have been unlucky on a number of occasions, however we’ve also conceded a number of stupid goals which may have ultimately played their part in our downfall”.

“After tomorrow’s match, I will be looking at our playing squad for next season and sitting down with the chairman to pin-point players I feel we should be moving on and others we should be looking to try to bringing in”.

In advance of tomorrow’s match, the club have announced that Jake Blair has been released.

