Brook Street Athletic moved to fill their shortage of cover in midfield by signing Romanian teenager Emil Vasiu on Thursday. The 18-year old from Braşov was signed in a £213,333 deal from his home-town team, robertii.

Speaking right after Emil put pen to paper at New Home Park last night, his new coach said, “We had competition from an Italian side for his signature, so we’re thoroughly delighted that he’s agreed to join us”.

He continued, “Emil is definitely one for the future, and I’m very hopeful he can go on to have a long and successful career with us”.

Emil himself said, “This is a tremendous opportunity for me, and I’m looking forward very much to playing my first match for Brook Street Athletic. I hope I can repay the club’s faith in me by playing well and scoring many goals”.

Emil is likely to make his debut in Wednesday’s Scottish Cup Fourth Round tie away to Kiya.

