A very young Athletic side were given a real lesson in finishing by what appeared to be the Kiya first team this morning, as they crashed out of the Scottish Cup, going down by 6-0.

Arjen admitted, “We were asleep at the back for their first goal, and from then on we were chasing the game”.

He continued, “We did however have a very young team on the field today while Kiya fielded, what looked to me, very much like a first team. I can’t be overly critical of my players in such circumstances”.

He added, “I was disappointed by our older players however, and I feel they didn’t help the youngsters out as well as they should have. We’ll discuss that at training tomorrow.

The reserves will now have two weeks of friendlies before the Brook Street Cup campaign kicks off in three weeks time.

