Andy Hautala volleys home our second goal.

A devastating five-goal first half display by Athletic swept aside Jimmy’s Wiggles and set up our 6-0 win in this afternoon’s league clash. Two goals each from Onésimo Murube and Andy Hautala along with a strike from Vítor Leocádio were added to in the second half by a superb scissor kick from Eldvinas Šumlinskas eight minutes from time.

The win saw Brook Street maintain their unbeaten record against the side from Fife, while it also kept us five points ahead of our nearest rivals with games now running out.

“Getting the win was more important than the standard of the performance”, said Arjen at full-time, “however, we produced a very good display, particularly in the first half, which was heartening”.

He continued, “We have stuttered somewhat over the past few weeks, so it was important that we picked up maximum points today to keep the pressure on our rivals”.

The match saw Athletic back to full strength, and Paul O’Healihy got fifteen minutes under his belt on his return from injury. The big Irishman said, “It’s good to get playing again. I’m a terrible spectator, so it’s good to get back into the thick of things. I got the go ahead last night, so I was really desperate to get onto the pitch this afternoon”.

“Touch wood, I’ll have no reaction tomorrow, but now I’m really looking forward to the run-in and hopefully I can stay injury free”.

Arjen commented jokingly, “Paul was an absolute nightmare when he was injured, the worst possible patient I’d guess! He was so desperate to get on this afternoon, but there’s no way I’ll be rushing him in his recuperation. As I explained to him, I’d rather he got a short time today rather than him being thrown straight back in and risk him out for a further long spell”.

“So far there seems to be no reaction, so hopefully there will be none tomorrow and he’ll be fully fit for next week”.

