Kyle Fair

The club announced this morning that veteran midfielder Kyle Fair has decided to hang up his boots, ending a sixteen season career with Brook Street.

“It was the hardest decision of my life having been here my entire playing career, but it’s one I knew I would have to make sooner or later”, said Kyle at this morning’s press conference.

Speaking of how he had made the decision, he said, “A combination of factors came together to help me arrive at it. I think that the injury I picked up towards the end of the season finally made my mind up to be honest. I’ve been taking longer and longer to heal, which I guess is only natural, and I knew I’d probably struggle to shake it off before pre-season”.

He then joked, “I’ve also been struggling to keep up in games as some of the more observant of you will have no doubt noticed!”

When asked about Kyle’s retirement, Arjen said, “Kyle’s been an inspirational player for us and there’s no doubt he will be missed in the dressing room. I didn’t realise he’d been here his entire career until just a couple of weeks ago, which these days is a truly remarkable achievement”.

He continued, “I knew Kyle was thinking about retiring, but it was still a surprise when it happened. I’ll be strange not to see him on the pitch again”.

Chairman, Louie Scott then paid tribute to him saying, “Kyle has been a model professional and as Arjen has already said, his presence in the dressing room will no doubt be sorely missed. To have stayed with the club since he graduated from the youth setup just shows how committed he is to the club”.

“Although he is retiring from playing, I am delighted to announce that Kyle will not be leaving the club and has agreed to take up a position as the club’s Press Relations Manager”.

The chairman then said, “As a young player, Kyle was level-headed enough to continue is university media degree in his spare time, and it can’t be seen as purely coincidence that over the past sixteen seasons Kyle has always been the first player to make himself available for interviews”.

He concluded, “He knows the club inside out and knows how the modern media works. In our opinion there could be no-one better to fill the post that Kyle”.

Kyle is heading off on holiday but will take up his new post when he returns a week on Monday.

