Oleg Zhigalov fires in our first goal against Rovers.

Oleg Zhigalov fires in our first goal against Rovers.

The chorus of boos that greeted the final whistle left the players in no doubt exactly what the fans thought of this afternoon’s result, and it was a furious Marcus Lövman who eventually faced the gathered press following Brook Street’s shock home defeat by Mercy Rovers.

The Swede was pulling no punches in his analysis of the match when he said, “If I’d been in the stands, I would have been booing too.

He continued, “I’ve seriously got to question the bottle of my players. We went into the match red-hot favourites, yet we couldn’t dispose of a side who have just come up and are second bottom of the league. That is simply not good enough for this club”.

“I don’t know if the players went into the game over-confident or simply thinking they were too good for the opposition, but the fact is, and I mean no disrespect to Rovers when I say this, we have lost today against a side we should have taken apart”.

He continued, “I’ve told them exactly what I thought of that performance. To have that much possession but fail to turn it into goals is simply not good enough”.

The match had started well for Brook Street with Emanuel Bohucký rattling the crossbar before Oleg Zhigalov fired us in front.

The home crowd were silenced when Benjamin Dufrêne levelled, but they were back on their feet a minute later when Germán Olmos Ribas put us 2-1 up.

However this was short-lived as Fabien Darty levelled again five minutes later, and Daniel Nowicki scored what was to prove the winning goal four minutes before the break.

