Thanks for the memories Onésimo.

Thanks for the memories Onésimo.

This evening marked a real end of an era as Onésimo Murube’s eleven season stay at the club came to an end with the popular Spaniard signing for Italian side Taranto F.C. in a £481,000 deal.

“We’ll miss him hugely”, admitted Kyle Fair, “but letting him move on is the right thing to do”. He added, “His chances of playing from the start were likely to become less, and to have a player like him sitting on the bench or even worse, turning out for the reserves would be criminal”.

He continued, “Onésimo still has a lot to offer the right side, and I’m sure he will do well in Italy”.

Speaking from Nigeria where he is with the reserves ahead of their friendly tomorrow, Marcus said, “Onésimo has been an outstanding servant of our club and I wish him all the luck with his new side. Of course he will be missed, as he was a huge character in the dressing room, but all good things must come to an end”.

He concluded, “As one chapter closes, another one opens for him and having spoken to him on the phone after the deal went through I know he’s looking forward to the new challenge”.

Before packing his bags for Italy, Onésimo took some time to speak to the Official Website.

He said, “Firstly, I must say thank you to everyone at the club and especially the fans who have been so fantastic. I have enjoyed my time at Brook Street so much that it is really sad to be leaving. However, we can’t stand still, and as long as Brook Street are going forward and upwards I will be very happy”.

“This is a fantastic club. It may not be the most glamorous in the world, nor have mega-bucks, but it consistently punches above it’s weight and is one that everyone associated with it is justifiably proud of”.

“I’m sorry to be leaving and I was really surprised when I was told this was my eleventh season with the club. We’ve had our ups and downs in that time, but I am proud to have pulled on a Brook Street kit and would like to say one last thing to the fans… thank you!”

Onésimo’s scoring record with Brook Street was prolific:

Appearances (Goals)

League

Cup

Play-offs

Friendlies

136 (79)

12 (15)

3 (4)

15 (13)

Everyone at the club wishes him the very best of luck with Taranto F.C. in Italy.

