Paco Palleras

Paco Palleras

Following the injury to Zsolt Baboss against Maxum last week, Leoš Loos this evening bolstering the club’s defence by securing the services of 31 year-old Paco Palleras from Swedish side Kvarnväggen in a deal worth just under £350,000.

Leoš said, “We don’t have a lot of defenders at the club, and with Zsolt looking as if he’ll miss a number of games in the run-in, we felt that it was important to bring someone in who was a recognised defender, and who would provide not just cover, but contribute to the team”.

He continued, “Paco has lots of experience and will not only steady the ship, but also be able to guide players through matches. He can play in either wide positions or in the middle, so provides us with versatility that we maybe haven’t had so far”.

Speaking of his move, Paco said, “I’m delighted to be here. Brook Street are a club going places, and I want to be part of that”.

He continued, “I’m not here to simply make up the numbers, but I’m also not naïve enough to think I can walk straight into the first team. I will have to be at my best to stay in the first team, should I be fortunate enough to get there in the first place. I’ve got to prove I am worthy of the place by performing well in the reserves, and that’s exactly what I intend to do”.

Paco will meet up with his new team-mates in the morning and will go straight into the squad to face Chilean side, Wanderers club in a friendly at New Home Park on Wednesday.

