Andrew Cleary fires us back into the lead late in the first half. It was all to prove for nothing...

Andrew Cleary fires us back into the lead late in the first half. It was all to prove for nothing…

Brook Street succumbed to their fate this afternoon, but they went down fighting much to the credit of the players and coaching staff.

Although their task proved too great in the end, their efforts were rewarded by a standing ovation from the Brook Street fans at full-time amid highly emotional scenes.

In the end the result against Padawan had been rendered academic as Hibernian MFC had disposed of Smyllum Rovers, but it didn’t make the defeat in their final game any easier to take according to Leoš Loos.

“Relegation is gut-wrenching regardless of how it occurs, and this one is no different. As a coach I know the implications, not only for myself but also for the players”.

He continued, “Relegation means cost-cutting, and although this side would have probably started to be broken up regardless, the drop down means that this cutting of players is likely to be more extensive”.

He was however uncertain of his own position at this time.

“I can’t say if I will be in charge next season; that’s obviously a decision for the board to make, but regardless of who the coach is, the side is going to be vastly different”.

He continued, “I feel I must take the opportunity to apologise to the fans for our performances this season and also thank them for their unwavering and superb support. I cannot thank them enough”.

“I don’t know if this will be my final press conference, but if it is, I would also like to thank you all for your understanding and say, ‘Brook Street will be back’! Thank you ladies and gentlemen and a Happy New Year to you all”.

And with that he left the press conference.

