Brook Street made another raid on the transfer market last night, picking up 17 year-old wing-back Richard Gabriel from Division III side Bayer Owndrink for a fee of £68,000.

Making the announcement and introducing Richard to the assembled press, Eike said, “For Richard, it’s really a case of ‘coming home’ as his family are from Monifieth. He may have come here by a round about route, but we’re delighted to have him here”.

Speaking of his move ‘home’, Richard said, “I found out about Brook Street’s interest on Sunday night, so it’s been a whirlwind couple of days. Coming here was a no-brainer for me. My dad used to take me and my brother to games when we were younger, and my brother is still a season ticket holder. This move is a dream come true”.

He continued, “I can’t think of anywhere better to hopefully progress my career. The gaffer has told me what the club are trying to achieve, and it’s going to be an exciting time for everyone involved with the club. There was no way I was going to miss out on that”.

Asked if he was sorry to leave Bayer Owndrink, he replied, “Sure. Bayer were a fantastic club to be involved with, and I’ve made a lot of friends there, but they’ve got a lot of players and you have to be really special to get a chance. It was clear, even in the academy that for me this wasn’t going to be the case, so to be given that chance with the club I’ve supported since I was a boy was too good to pass over”.

On the signing, Eike said, “It’s always so much better when you sign players who have an affinity for the club; the club sells itself. Richard is a really good prospect and it’s up to us to see he fulfils his potential. Bayer’s loss is our gain as far as I’m concerned”.

Eike confirmed that Richard would go straight into the squad to face Mauchline United tomorrow, and also said that he was hopeful that another player would be joining up at New Home Park within the next day or two, but declined to elaborate.

“Well just have to wait and see what transpires”.

